Magic vs Miracles

my way to truthApparently, magic is a side effect of depression. I can’t exactly cite the source as it is in a foreign language and, honestly, probably not very credible. However, I can see where they are coming from. When you are depressed, when you are down, you believe that the only solution to your problems is a miracle.

I am playing with these words in my head – problems, miracles, magic…and I can’t help it but to come to the same conclusion no matter how I look at it.

You become depressed when your inside world is not or can’t fit in the outside world. You become depressed when no matter how hard you try, you can’t seem fit in. I am not saying that depression is not a serious condition, I am saying that side effects of depression are created by society.

No people, no problems, right? Do you really think that we would feel fat or ugly or worthless if not for our society?
When you remove people, when you remove society and all the perceptions that community defines for you, everything is a miracle. Sun, wind, trees, nature….You breathing is a miracle. Your existence is a miracle.

Love is magical. Ocean is magical. Waves are magical.

Miracles are longed for when you stop seeing that everything is a miracle. Magic is longed for when you stop seeing that you are a miracle who leaves magic everywhere you go.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

2 responses to “Magic vs Miracles”

  1. itsoktoday says :

    Hey. I like your post. I agree. Society plays such a huge role influencing our lives to the nth degree. I totally agree when you mention your comment about the outside world not matching our inner worlds. I have written similar thoughts in one of my posts. 😄

  2. Carolyn Page says :

    Reminds me of ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest’, Dace.
    So many pertinent quotes from that film –

    ““What do you think you are, for Chrissake, crazy or somethin’? Well you’re not! You’re not! You’re no crazier than the average asshole out walkin’ around on the streets and that’s it. ”

    One of the things we humans are really good at is making a really debilitating thing/event easier to manage with humour.!

    Another great thought wrangler… 😉

Tell Me What you Think

