Who Deserves You?

deserving

Courtesy of Google Images

I stumbled upon an interesting article for those who are looking for a new job. It was talking about the change in thinking and how job interviews are changing from bullying to appreciating.

I giggled when an author compared old style to being interviewed by zombies who ask you a set of questions to get certain answers and if you do not give them a straight answer on how much you make or what is your greatest weakness, they don’t know what to do with that.

But this is not about job interviews or looking for a job, this is about something that the author said:

Only the people who get you deserve you.

Exactly! Why would you go for a company where you can’t be yourself. Why would you even considered getting a job with a company that is not flexible, doesn’t change, and doesn’t appreciate creative or unique people?

People forget that it is not you who is in great need of them to give you a job, it is a two-way street. You are also interviewing them. You spend 2/3 of your day at work. It is your second home. Those people are almost like family. If you have to work to pay your bills, at least spend the day having fun and building great relationships with people who get you.

And again, you get what you think you deserve – love, job, friends, and life itself.

Tags: , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

10 responses to “Who Deserves You?”

  1. Carolyn Page says :

    You always share deep posts that require a lot of thought; well, at least for me.
    Undoubtedly, we need to be concerned about our wellbeing in the workplace. That’s certainly the ideal. When I haven’t felt the sense of being honoured, I have simply left. Some may feel that’s foolish; that money ought to override such concerns. Speaking from my own reality; it’s not always easy to place one’s self above the procurement of funds; however, not to do so could be the beginning of a downward spiral into self oblivion. Ouch!

    • Dace says :

      you are right as always, my friend. I like how you put it in simple words: not to put yourself over the procurement of funds could be the beginning of a downward spiral.
      We all know this to be true and inevitable.

  2. Kitt Crescendo says :

    Unfortunately it’s also possible for the company where you used to be able to be yourself to evolve into a place that is no longer accepting of the unique and the free thinkers… And who suck up your time until you realize you’ve not been doing the things that make you you. It’s important to recognize these signs and alter your goals within such a place as needed, too.

    • Dace says :

      yes, Kitt, absolutely. People change, places change, and culture changes. Everything flows, so are we. Realization and awareness is the key.

      You can still choose to stay and play the game but you have to be in “the know” and not sucked in or totally submerged into that madness.

  3. Interview Knowledge says :

    Like you mention, I think it is very important for there to be a good fit for both parties involved. There needs to be a good organizational fit for the new employee to succeed.
    http://www.interviewknowledge.com

  4. Denise Hisey says :

    I like that quote!
    Many years ago, after tiring of bad work environments, I finally took a step of interviewing my potential boss. He was surprised when I showed up with a list of my own questions, and I told him I’d done a background check on him because I knew people in his field. He liked my initiative and I liked that he wasn’t threatened by it. That job was the turning point for me to find a place I fit, not just that would hire me.

  5. PROVOKEMEinc says :

    I could not agree with what you wrote more. I just ended a very draining position of three years with the Ontario government. I felt unappreciated and like a drone towards the end. All the hard work and uniqueness in my abilities were buried under change and politics. Though it is hard to not be working, scary financially in fact. I am trying to honour taking the time to align myself with something(s) that allow me to excel at being me again! Health comes first – it is a huge lesson I have learned in the past year. Thanks for your post.

    • Dace says :

      you know, I agree, most of the time change is scary – either it is changing jobs, not accepting a perfectly fine job offer, getting out of a relationship, moving to a new city or it is something on much deeper level of awareness. However, fear is just fear and it should not be reason you give up on a change to be happy or just be you (whatever that is) 🙂

Tell Me What you Think

