Breaking The Silence

Courtesy of Google images

Courtesy of Google images

The truth is painful. However, the truth is the only cure.

I don’t write my blog to get attention or to change the world. I write when something is eating at me or I have stumbled upon something that has made me think. This is my spiritual autolysis.  This is my way to truth…whatever that truth is. I also know that those who need to read what I have to say will always find my blog.

Blogging is not just about words, thoughts, and exchange of opinions. It is about the world that we live in. It is about the reality we choose for ourselves.

Today my thoughts were lingering around silence. It wasn’t about talking vs being quiet. It was about our way of finding the path we want to take. There is so much going on in your head right now – pain, happiness, worrying, enjoyment, fear, but never a quiet moment. Our heads are filled with thoughts and emotions. Some of them are silenced and ignored, some of them are more than welcome, and some of them are undefined (something that is there but not understood or seems relevant). Sorting through these emotions and thoughts and finding the answer that you are seeking for can be a challenge.

Silence – for every person it means something different. What was the first thought that popped into your head when you read the word “silence”?

The other day I was reading a blog about somebody who suffered from an eating disorder and how that person felt ashamed of who she was, and how she tried to hide the truth. I was thinking. It hit close to home. Oh, boy I could relate what she was going through.

For some, silence means a moment of non-suffering. For others, silence means being alone with your thoughts. For somebody else,  it is a physical safety net like nothing bad is coming.

For me, silence means – not moving. If I do not speak the truth, it means I am not truthful about where I am. If I keep silent and not acknowledge what I am going through or feeling, it means I am about to lie to myself.

Talking means – making something real. Once you let something out, there is no way back. You have to face it. You have to face it for yourself.  Once you speak up – it makes it true and real and that means, you are ready to change.

It is applicable to everything:

– not being happy
– acknowledging the rape
– acknowledging and facing a mental disorder
– acknowledging your fear
– facing something you have been avoiding
– looking yourself in the eye and telling the truth
– finally understanding and feeling that you have a choice
– realizing that you own your truth
– realizing that your happiness is not defined by people surrounding you
– realizing that there is more to life than you thought

Once you break the silence, you find yourself on a path of freeing yourself. You suddenly realize that breaking the silence is not about letting other people know what happened or what is happening, but it is the only cure to whatever you are suffering from. It is a liberating feeling when you say it out laud.

I dear you to break the silence…

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

7 responses to “Breaking The Silence”

  1. Valentina says :

    I Love your blog, despite not always having time or reason to comment, I always read. I completely agree:

    “For me, silence means – not moving. If I do not speak the truth, it means I am not truthful about where I am. If I keep silent and not acknowledge what I am going through or feeling, it means I am about to lie to myself.

    Talking means – making something real. Once you let something out, there is no way back. You have to face it. You have to face it for yourself. Once you speak up – it makes it true and real and that means, you are ready to change.”

    Also, silence is what society would prefer you to keep (especially in England!) and Truth is what makes us MOST uncomfortable (again, that is awful for a Brit!).

    So, here in the UK, for a hot blooded Italian like me, I am especially careful, and have been working very hard on silence, but only for smaller things, like stating my opinion about something emotionally difficult, telling friends how I feel about them as I know emotionally intense stuff upsets English people deeply.

    But silence in keeping such huge issues torturing us inside… that is just wrong. It’s understandable: society’s pressure, and fear of losing everything, which unfortunately often materialises, sometimes even illegality!. But I agree, keeping it inside is just killing oneself from within :/.

    • Dace says :

      “..But I agree, keeping it inside is just killing oneself from within…” this is so true.

      My biggest concern for the world is – that we ourselves keep supporting so called standards of behavior. The fear of losing everything just means that you never owned what you are afraid to lose. If it was really yours, it would not change no matter what comes out of your mouth.

      thanks Valentina for your sharing your thoughts on Silence.

  2. mickcgorman says :

    I only stay silent in order to avoid hurting other people, if I think something is important enough I will say so regardless of others though. I had a couple of real life friends that follow my blog for the dog postings, they stopped following me when I did a posting supporting gay marriage?! And another on poverty and welfare! Too important to be silent.

    • Dace says :

      I would hardly call those people friends. You can agree to disagree on some things but that should not impact your friendship if it is real.

      I am very liberal and agree with democrats in US but I also have friends that are die hard republicans. Hell my in-laws are republicans. We know it, we acknowledge that difference but we still love each other.

      There are so many things either in our lives or in other lives that need to be talked about. Just because it makes somebody uncomfortable doesn’t mean you have to keep your mouth shut. You do whatever is right for you but never keep silent when your heart tells you speak up.

  3. Val Boyko says :

    Thank you so much for sharing here. Breaking silence implies that it has been held together, constricted or kept captive in some way. Keeping quiet also implies contraction or holding back. When you asked what silence meant, I thought of the word “peace”. So different and interesting! Both aspects shine a light on inner freedom.

    • Dace says :

      When you really have nothing to say or when there is “peace” in your mind, you might be free from dilusions and non existing ties. Then you do not need to break the silence as there is nothing to break free from….

      however, for the majority of my readers, including myself, “Silence” is not freedom, silence is not going with the flow of life and being integrated, “SIlence” is a way to get deeper and deeper in the darkness that we create for ourselves

      • Val Boyko says :

        Isn’t that what we all yearn for? Breaking free. To find the freedom to keep going towards inner peace. Finding the courage to speak our truth…. being okay with the inner rising heat and discomfort…. accepting that others will be upset and not understand…..being okay with the sweaty palms and the pounding heart beat in our ears … handling the ridicule and dismissive comments …. Going through this can help us realize that we are indeed okay. Our voice is worthwhile and valued.
        It takes courage, and it can be done. I was once where you are, and I resented the folks who seemed to have it together.
        Always remember that a lot genuinely content people have gone through the wars.Transformation never happens in the easy. Only through challenges can we truly grow.
        Yes – we do lose supposed friends along the way. But they are usually the ones who are not able to grow and follow us on this path.
        All the best for your blog and touching others on their journey!
        x

Tell Me What you Think

