I didn’t Know

DSC00550

There are so many things I didn’t know.

I didn’t know that I missed my native land as much as I did.
I didn’t know that I missed some foods that I grew up with.

601650_10151713073000638_222066520_n

I didn’t know that I would miss the way linden tree and jasmine aromas mix together when they bloom.
I didn’t know that I would really enjoy seeing people I grew up with after all these years.
I didn’t know that some of them don’t actually care if I am married to a man or a woman and what they actually care about is – what kind of person I have become.
I didn’t know that my country in some ways is still something that I can be proud of even though I do not call it home anymore.

DSC00899
I didn’t know that there are things that would still make my heart skip a beat and make me smile.

1069284_10151741035955638_1948076237_n

I didn’t know that my bitterness about people’s ignorance and narrow-mindedness would start disappearing the moment I realized that things and people were changing.
I didn’t know that me smiling and wishing somebody a nice day would not be taken as something odd but actually appreciated.
I didn’t know that for the first time in 13 years I would be leaving Latvia with sadness in my heart wishing that I had a little bit more time.

382514_10151725945815638_1152974113_n
I didn’t know that of all the places Latvia would make me fall in love with graffiti. Not just some kind of random splashes of color and letters but meaningful and sometimes political messages for people to wake up.

And I didn’t know that I had changed so much…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

6 responses to “I didn’t Know”

  1. Lois says :

    Nice post… well said!

  2. Denise Hisey says :

    Such a good point, Dace. There’s so much to learn about ourselves, isn’t there?

Tell Me What you Think

