Oh, those Fluffies…

Alex

Alex

Love of my life…that was the original title of the blog post but then I realized that I have a few of those and it didn’t seem appropriate to post just about one of them. So, we ended up with “Oh, those Fluffies”.

I was going through my wordpress reader and got inspired by a post from Sheri on her 27 year journey with her cat Morti.  It is amazing when you have a pet around for so long. The connection you have with it is something you can’t even describe.

We got Alex when she was 5 years old and she turned out to be the coolest cat ever. You would think that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. Guess what!  It was a cat and, yes, we taught her new tricks.

She sits, she rolls over, she listens to “no”, she fetches (on her own terms), she comes when you call her, and she tells you what’s on her mind.

This little fluffy taught me about life more than interaction with humans. When I look back at our life together and lessons that we both learned, I am in awe of how amazing it has been.

– Never give up and be persistent
– New things in your life can be scary but once you think about it, they bring new experiences and new excitement
– Don’t let life’s beating keep you down. Get up, shake it off and continue like nothing has happened
– Always live with a conviction that you rule the world
– Hiss at changes, look straight them in the face, lift your tail high, and stand your ground
– Don’t be afraid to trust people you love and let go of control
– When you trip in your own litter box that’s bigger than life and come out with your head covered in litter, behave like it is a new trend and like you have no clue what happened (see the photo)
– When something amazing comes into your life, drop everything you do and enjoy it like those are last moments of your life
– When you are happy, make sure everyone knows it and wants it too
– Even when you are not feeling well, show love to those who matter
– Be optimistic in situation that you know are hopeless
–  Change things and make everyone else guess what the hell you are up to now
– When somebody has decided that they know you, boxed you in their little world of labels, do something that is opposite to what is expected of you.
– Never allow somebody to define who you are according to their view of the world

I could go on and on and brag about the fact that I have the most amazing cat in the world but I also know that we all have either the most amazing cat or dog or mouse or snake or neighbor or partner.

What matters is that we open up our hearts and never stop learning from each other.

Tags: , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

8 responses to “Oh, those Fluffies…”

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says :

    Thanks for the shout-out for Morti and me. You’ve written a great story here and sounds as if you had a great adventure with Alex. I know I’m not going to be able to tell my stories of Morti in chronological order and have decided that’s okay. As I’m sure you do with Alex, I miss Morti every day, and he was never just a pet. I treated him like a member of the family and he understood that to mean he was royalty and we were his subjects!

    • Dace says :

      I read your story and it reminded me that I have to cherish every single moment I have with my cat. I am lucky, Alex is still around and hopefully will be for at least another 10 years. She is 13 right now

  2. Victoria Oldham says :

    Awesome list. Pets are such wonderful teachers.

  3. Loz says :

    I love this post! We can learn so much from animals and all living things. Having a connection to living things around us is a true gift. Thanks for putting a huge smile on my face 🙂 Animals know how to live in the moment in such a beautiful way.

    • Dace says :

      yes, I learn from my cat every single day. Love and respect, and enjoyment of every single moment. Nature has it figured out but humans…oh, well, they are still confused…

      • Loz says :

        Yes indeed. I have a beautiful labrador who reminds me of what unconditional love is daily. Animals really do know how to be present don’t they. No wonder we feel so good when we connect with them!

  4. carolynpageabc says :

    Oh, those fluffies, indeed..! 🙂
    They (the fluffies) are precious teachers; to be sure…
    Funny that your fluffy and my fluffy have been to the same school of education, and have such similar teachings to offer….! 😉

    I loved this, Dace…
    Signed: Still wearing a smile… xoxoxo 🙂

Tell Me What you Think

