New Year, Same Old Story

Have you noticed that every year you have a list of things you will change the next year? You sit down around Christmas time and you make your list:

Lose weight, exercise more, eat healthy, be nicer, change your image, and etc.

And, year after year nothing happens.  This NOTHING happens because there is nothing different about the first months of the year and the twelfth moths.

Things will change only and only if we want to change, and trust me, it is not going to be the first of January. Once you are ready to make the change, it will be right here, right now, and it might be 8 am or 4 pm, or 9 pm or even 2 am on a Tuesday, Thursday or Sunday. 

Making changes have nothing to do with a new day or a new week or a new year. It has everything to do with the reason you want to change. This reason comes from within when you are ready and not when you think you should do it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

9 responses to “New Year, Same Old Story”

  1. Heather says :

    I hate New Years’ resolutions just for that reason. 😛

    • Dace says :

      do you have them? Sometimes I catch myself thinking about things that I want to change and start the new year fresh but then I come to a realization that I am waiting for miracles to happen.

      • Heather says :

        Well… not really. Not in the sense that on January 1 I sit down and say “my new years’ resolution is….” Usually not anything to do with physical shape or major behavioral changes, lol. (those never end well!) I will sit down, however, and make goals for my creative projects or other things I want to accomplish in the year. For example, this year my goals are to get my next CD done, start learning more advanced stuff on the guitar, and get better at rapier fencing so I can compete in a tournament.

        I try very hard to be realistic about what I want to accomplish, although sometimes I do find myself wishing for those miracles. I think we all have that tendency. 🙂

      • Dace says :

        I am pretty sure your next CD will be out in no time. As more you preform as more you will get the exposure and as more people you will reach with your music. I believe in you! Dream big and Just Do It with or without Nike shoes

  2. Victoria Oldham says :

    So very very true! All you have to do is make the decision and hold on with both hands. No matter the day or time.

  3. surroundings of mine says :

    I totally agree with you, but once I read somewhere that writing down your goals, not necessarily at the end of the year, helps in reaching them. So even if going through the entire process of the new year’s resolutions doesn’t really work unless you are convinced, that might help 🙂

    • Dace says :

      I fully agree with you that writing and clarifying your goals helps but in this case I am talking about New Years resolutions that people come up with and try to make them come true for a week or so. As I said in my post, you will change when you are ready and it will be right here, right now.

  4. Ben says :

    I guess it’s so popular to make a resolution for New Year’s just because of the way it’s supposed to be a clear line between one year and another.

Tell Me What you Think

