Being Gay and Acceptance

That is a tough topic because most of the time when we talk about acceptance, it starts within ourselves. Accepting and loving yourself for who you are is harder than anything else in this life.

Depending on where you are and what people surround you it can be a piece of cake or a nightmare come true.

The main thing to remember is, people come and go, opinions come and go, beliefs come and go, but you stay the same. You can’t choose your biological parents but you can choose your family. Parents are not the ones who brought you into this life, parents are the ones who taught you right from wrong, who were there and supported you in the time of need.

Family is the one, who is there for you, loving you, respecting you and accepting you. Throughout your life you will meet people who will become your family, you will meet people who will be there for you no matter what, you just need to reach out and open your heart.

Maybe you are in high school or college, or maybe you live in a small town and it seems that you are all alone. But the truth is – you are not. There are others like you.

Regardless where you are, there is always a way out. There is always a way to reach people who care and who understand.  And remember, the same way as there is someone who makes your heart skip a beat, somebody’s heart stops for a second when they see you.

I know as I have been in a very dark place myself and I have made some choices that I regret. I was alone, I had nobody to talk to, I didn’t know that it would get better, I didn’t see a way out, I had no idea what was happening to me and I didn’t know what to do.

However, I did learn a valuable lesson – nobody defines me as a human being. Being like everybody else just means – being unhappy and letting others tell you who you are, what you are supposed think and do. Being like everybody else always is harder than being yourself. When you respect yourself and love yourself, you have a glow about you that will make people turn their heads. You are better than those people who have no respect for others or themselves.

You rock, my friend…never forget that.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

4 responses to “Being Gay and Acceptance”

  1. bridgeout says :

    “When you respect yourself and love yourself, you have a glow about you that will make people turn their heads.”
    Yes! I know this to be true even though I have not quite gotten to this place yet… it is where I aspire to be. Slowly I’m becoming who I am.

  2. Popnotes says :

    You glow???

    You better get that checked out, dude, It could be radiation!

Tell Me What you Think

