Binational Couples Torn Apart – DOMA

I would like to talk a bit about DOMA (defence of marriage act) that is one of the major obstacles in preventing married bi national couples from being together in US. It is a painful topic for me as this is the reason me and my better half are in Canada. Don’t get me wrong, we both love Canada and consider it home. However, the knowledge that my partner is considered a second class citizen in her own country is a bit too much to bear.
What do you do if you fall in love with a person you are not supposed to? Isn’t US government trying to tell you whom to fall in love to and whom you are allowed to love?
What happens if you fall in love with somebody who is not an American? Are you obligated to love people from your own country? What right does the government have to define love?

I just want to ask any straight person, how would you feel if somebody would tell you that you do not have an option to be with the person you love? How would you feel if somebody would tell you that you do not have the right to love?

It rips my heart apart to know that my partner had to choose between me and her family. It hurts to know that my partner’s country turned back on her and made her choose between the country she loves and the person she loves. It hurts to know that she had to move to Canada and leave everything she loved behind just to feel what it means to be accepted for who you are and live your life according to your heart.
I say – shame on you the United States of America who considers itself a democratic country where everybody has rights and freedom.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

2 responses to “Binational Couples Torn Apart – DOMA”

  1. tsonoda148 says :

    Such a sad reality we live in. So sorry to hear about your partner. Sending love from Vegas and hoping things change, and soon!

  2. Dace says :

    Thanks Terri. There is always hope. I believe that one day it will all be alright.

Tell Me What you Think

