I am (not) sorry for getting married

I stumbled upon this video and had a good laugh.  However, I do have to admit that there is a bit of truth in all of that. Ridiculous protests in a name of the term – Marriage. The same sex marriage or a civil union or any other term you can come up with – as long as it provides same benefits and protection by law. I just want to know, truly know, how my commitment to my partner hurts any straight marriage? How in a world my love for my partner would destroy somebody’s precious marriage?

I do not care how you call it, I honestly don’t. All I care about is the equality.
As long as you have to obey same laws, you get same benefits, your partner is able to come to see you in a hospital and make life saving decisions, gets medical insurance and doesn’t have to fight for kids if something bad happens – I don’t care how you call it.

I am not sorry that I was able to get married to my partner 5 years ago in Canada, but I am sorry that my partner had to leave her country (she is an American) to be with me. I am sorry that she had to leave behind her family, the country she loved, her friends and her home. And I am sorry that she was treated like a second class citizen.

On a bright side, I am so honored that they care about what I do and how I live my life. I am honored to be so special and noticed. There must be some kind of amazing powers that I have that make heterosexual marriages crumble. I didn’t know that heterosexual marriages were on a verge of disappearing and I am so sorry that we need to protect it whatever it takes.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

8 responses to “I am (not) sorry for getting married”

  1. New Allie says :

    Great post oh powerful one! Allie

    • Dace says :

      thank you! I feel strongly about what I said. My marriage or my commitment is nobody’s business as long as it is a consensual decision between two adults.

  2. padresteve says :

    Good on you. I’m heterosexual and married 27 years to my bride and hope that gay people will have the same legal rights that I have. I’m glad that you are able to be together but wish that your partner did not have to leave this country just to get married.

    • Dace says :

      thanks Padresteve for understanding. My partner is an American and I am a European. We live in Canada because neither of our countries have same sex marriage legalized. Only a person who has ever loved with all their heart will understand what it means to be in love and to have the privilege to be together, and have a choice to make it official if they choose.

  3. me says :

    I’m also lucky enough to live in a country where it is legal (south africa) – I hope more countries catch up…

  4. Anne says :

    “As long as you have to obey same laws, you get same benefits, your partner is able to come to see you in a hospital and make life saving decisions, gets medical insurance and doesn’t have to fight for kids if something bad happens – I don’t care how you call it.”

    I agree with you on this one. 🙂 (Maybe because these are one of the reasons why I got married) 🙂 I really don’t see why homosexual people shouldn’t get these rights by marriage or something like that, and why should someone feel insecure in their heterosexual marriage because of it.

  5. Heather says :

    It’s the legal rights argument that you have outlined that I agree with the most. Were I to end up in serious condition in a hospital, I would want my husband to be able to see me and make decisions accordingly (because I trust him with my interests more than my blood family!) — and as far as I’m concerned, it’s those reasons right there why same sex couples should have the same rights.

    Everyone likes to say “you can’t choose your family/blood relatives”… But I say we DO when we choose who we want to spend the rest of our lives with. That should be respected.

    • Dace says :

      i do agree with the fact that you kind of sort of can’t choose your blood relatives, but you can choose your family and you can choose your partner / wife / husband, and it all comes down to legal rights and decisions that might need to be made at some point in our lives. And i would really love to look into person’s eyes who is brave enough to tell me that I do not deserve to be loved and I do not deserve to have a right to be with somebody I love, and that I might have to die alone in a hospital just because they believe that they deserve more rights than I do…

Tell Me What you Think

