Givenchy ad campaign features transgender model

Givenchy designer Riccardo Tisci is spotlighting transgender model Lea T. in his fall-winter ad campaign.  Isn’t that great?  Existence of Transgenders in modeling has been, more or less, a TABOO, except the drag queen RuPaul.  However, that doesn’t count as he doesn’t identify himself as transgender.

In attempt to find out a bit more information, I googled “transgender models” and holy smoke, let me tell you, some of those women are just plain gorgeous.  Of course, almost nothing shows up on TV and people stay as narrow minded as it gets.

C’mon, tell me she is not gorgeous?  This woman was crowned Queen of the Universe.  If you want, you can read upon it here: http://www.queenuniverse.com/asia.html

Helping others, raising awareness and being able to make a difference – the result of earning the title.

“…Ever since then my life has been more colorful. There were opportunities that came for me to speak to my peers and colleagues about what’s important for the Transgender community. I’m glad I was able to take advantage of a few of those and promote my platform of HIV/AIDS Education and Prevention.

My future is open to possibilities. My title has helped start discussions with community members about Transgenders, beauty, health, and our role in society. The title has also helped break the stereotypes that we are only about our looks. I have learned that there are more educated and well-learned professional Transgender women out there. I believe that those of us who are able to, we should encourage and uplift our peers to desire and achieve something better for themselves….”

I say it is awesome….and you say…????

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

One response to “Givenchy ad campaign features transgender model”

Tell Me What you Think

