Spirituality vs Religion

“I have a few entries in this blog that could be considered radical or offensive to some people.  However, these entries are there for a reason. When I started to realize that I was gay or even first years of my journey to acceptance, I looked into those topics. I wanted to know if being gay is a disease, if it is something that can be corrected by therapy, drugs or lobotomy. I had to look into the accusations expressed by church, bible and other religious entities. Psychology, psychiatry, church, religion – it is all relevant to my research and understanding, it all leads to clarity. This entry is one of them.”

You and I are so different and so alike at the same time. I am white; you are black, yellow, red or brown. I was born in the northern part of this world; you were born in the south part, in the middle or somewhere else. I speak three languages; you speak 1 or 5, or 8, or maybe 10.

I call my god – a higher power (good spirits), you call your god –God, Allah, Buddha or any other word.

We are so different, but we are the same – we both are human beings and we both believe in greater good. We both believe that there is something better for us in this world; we both believe that we are here to make a difference in our own way. You might be a Christian, Hindu, Jehovah, or atheist. You might believe in God or you might not believe in God, you might be straight, gay, transgender, or bi-sexual. It doesn’t matter who you are or what you believe in. What matters is that you care about people around you! You care if somebody you love is hurting, if a child is crying or a bus hit somebody. You want this world to be a better place for all mankind, so do I. You have your dreams and I have mine and we both have what it takes to make this world a better place to live in for everybody.


I have always been amazed by people who have been looking for differences and trying to find bad in others. How about looking and concentrating on the good that we all have in us despite differences?

Tags: , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

Tell Me What you Think

