Is LGBT a Culture or a Curse?

LGBT CultureSomebody stumbled upon my blog by searching this question. I thought about it and figured that it deserved a bit more attention than just a smirk.

First, I can’t even wrap my head around it. LGBT as a culture. I would call it more a community than a culture. Let’s ask google.

“… the arts and other manifestations of human intellectual achievement regarded collectively….”
“..Culture is our way of life. It includes our values, beliefs, customs, languages and traditions….”
“…Culture is a word for people’s ‘way of life’, meaning the way groups do things…”

It looks to me that LGBT is not a way of life or how groups do things. It is not a culture, it is not a way of life, and it definitely is not a lifestyle.

If LGBT is a culture, then Straight should be a culture. No matter how you look, that is not a culture. There is a bunch of LGBT people who hang out together, have events, have celebrations, have a ” community” where everybody is welcomed.

In this day and age there are still people who have no clue about so many things. I do not want to be rude or disrespectful but, dear people, there is google and if you really want to be sure and find facts, please educate yourself.

It still blows my mind that there are people who do not know that:

Homosexuality is not the same as pedophilia
Psychologist is not the same as psychiatrist
Sexual orientation is not a choice but religion is.
Canadians actually speak English and not Canadian
Gays are amazing parents because they choose parenthood. It is planned and wanted.
You can’t raise gay kids. It is not something you can teach somebody. They are born that way.
Calories are not the same. 1,000 burger calories will make you obese. 1,000 salad calories will probably make you just nauseous as it is a lot of greens.
Most of diseases are caused by stress and food you eat and not genetics.
We, humans, are causing global warming. Go read some scientific proof. It is not a myth.
Life is just a dream….

And just to let you know,

- I am gay but I do not have a gay life. I have a life.

- I am not having a gay job. I have a job.

- I do not have a gay marriage. I am married to a wonderful person and I share my life with them. We do laundry, we shop, we go on vacation, we sponsor kids in third world countries, we buy presents for friends and relatives, we renovate, we argue, we yell, we laugh, we agree and we disagree, and etc…

- My friends are not gay friends. I have friends from every walk  of life – different age, different gender, different sexual orientation, and different faith. I do not choose friends based on their sexual orientation. I choose my friends based on their personalities and their values.

- I have a car, I do not have a gay car.

- We have a cat and she is not a gay cat.

- I pay taxes. I do not pay gay taxes.

And, just to sum up, nothing is a curse. It is just life. Things happen, but you are the one who determines if it is bad or good. Your attitude defines everything. So, LGBT is a curse only and only if you see it that way and most likely it is because you have surrounded yourself with bad people. There are bad people and good people everywhere – in every country, in every community, in every city, in every family.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

One response to “Is LGBT a Culture or a Curse?”

  1. urbanmythcafe says :

    When you start to notice this misconception (that LGBT is a culture, or a lifestyle), it turns out to be more prevalent than one would think.

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 831 other followers

