What is Wrong With Me?

what is wrong with meI bet this question has crossed your mind not just once. You know the feeling I am talking about. That feeling that you feel like you almost never fit in. You feel and think differently. You look at your friends, your family, your co-workers and you just can’t be like everyone else. No matter how hard you try, nothing changes.

My friend keeps asking this question and keeps trying to find an answer to a simple problem. He thinks that happiness is something that can be achieved by being like everybody, like normal people. And if no matter what he does, wherever he goes, he still doesn’t fit it, it has to mean that there is something wrong with him.  Otherwise he would be happy. He would keep his well paid job, he would live in his house and try to find a mate, and maybe even start a family. Isn’t that what happiness means? Isn’t that what everybody wants and thrives for?

The truth is simple: there is nothing wrong with the world and there is everything wrong with the world.

I will tell you what’s wrong with you. You are trying to live according to somebody else’s rules and following dreams that are not yours.

You feel lost, you feel out-of-place, you feel so alone. And you feel that way because your heart has come face to face with beliefs that got shoved down your throat since childhood.  When the truth inside you collides and contradicts your beliefs, your brain goes into a panic mode.  It hurts physically and emotionally. It created chaos…

Forget what you have been taught and find your way. No matter what you say, your heart already knows the answer. No matter how hard you try to argue, ignore, and prove something, you already know the truth. All you need to do is to accept it…

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

7 responses to “What is Wrong With Me?”

  1. liz says :

    Awesome post. What a great message of empowerment! xx

  2. Lois says :

    Totally agree, Dace! I spent far too many years thinking I needed to be like someone else… wrong! You tell ‘em!! :)

  3. scribblenubbin says :

    I agree completely. I spent far too long trying to fit someone else’s idea of what I should want. Now I’m happy to say that I’m 31, I’m living in a one bedroom flat and aiming for a wedding next year to the woman I love. So what if I don’t have the house, the 2.4 kids, the dog and the driving license that would mean I could own a car to ferry said kids around in? My path to happiness is just a little different.

    • Dace says :

      I am glad that you have made that choice – to be who you are and live according to your own heart. Happiness is something that you find in things others might not see. Thanks for your comment

  4. barbarafranken says :

    Great post… I have also been through the stages of being bothered of not fitting in … until i realised I had to stand out… and be different… Barbara… Have you had chance to look at my January challenge and writing a short piece about your awakening experience… it would be great for you to join…. Barbara http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/challenge-2014-my-awakening-experience-and-moving-forward/

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers

