Help or Walk Away

helpI know, I am facing first world problems and to some people this will sounds idiotic, some will not understand, some will want to cuss me out, some might say things that should be rated, but some will get it.

I have been thinking about this for some time and till this moment I do not know if there is an answer to my quest.
It all started with a heavy rain. I was walking to work and observing hundreds of rain worms on sidewalks and in puddles. As I do live in a city that is just unpredictable when it comes to weather, I knew that in few hours these puddles will dry out leaving poor warms in the middle of the street.

yes, you can call it – natural selection, the strong ones survive and blah..blah…However, it made me ask a question. Is it better to let the worm die on the side-walk or give it a chance to live by placing it in the grass? The odds are slim as a half dead worm might not be able to get to the soil.

Same question bugged me yesterday. Again, on my way to work, I almost stepped on a dragonfly with a broken wing. This small creature was on its back kicking and struggling to get up. I knew if I had left it on the side-walk, somebody would have stepped on it and put it out of its misery. I picked it up, turned it over and put it in the grass where it would be safe. as I was walking away I asked myself. Was that humane?

If I was a dragonfly with a broken wing or a damaged body and somebody would pick me up and placed me away from a heavy traffic, would I actually prefer to die right away or to suffer and possibly die slowly feeling every bit of torture?

I know, we are not talking about humans but animals, crawlers, worms, and etc., and some people believe that they are not equal to humans. I am an animal lover and I believe that there is no difference between a rain worm and a human. We are all the same, we share this earth that we call home. After all in the Universe our Earth is just a small grain of sand that nobody gives a shit about and will destroy it in a heart beat without thinking about humans or their ability to mess up everything they touch. …

So, is it better to help and give a chance to survive or walk away?

Ok, for those who are worked up about me comparing humans and animals and are about to give me their piece of mind, I have a different question for you. You witness a car crash. A drunk human has caused a car crash and has killed a mother and her three kids (ages 3-7). You know the family.

The drunk driver is still alive but his car is about to blow up. You check the family and they are dead, so you head towards the drunk driver. He is stuck in the car but you can definitely get him out. So, while you are trying to get him out, you ask him if he is aware that he has killed 3 kids and he looks at you, smirks and says – so what? I don’t give a damn, get me the f*** out of this car.

Tell me, would you still help him get out that car ( he might flee) or you would leave him there knowing that there is a 50% chance that the car will blow up before the rescue crew arrives?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

16 responses to “Help or Walk Away”

  1. Kitt Crescendo says :

    As difficult as it may be not to be angry at the drunk driver, it’s still a person’s life. You save them and let them face the consequences of their actions. In fact, I think the best punishment you can give someone sometimes is to let them live with what they’ve done.

    • Dace says :

      however, it still doesn’t answer the philosophical question – why a man’s life is more important than a bugs? I guess what I am point at is the fact that we live based on beliefs that a human life is somehow to be treated differently then any other, that somehow we are more important. But is it really so…???

      • Kitt Crescendo says :

        I think there are levels of that. I know if anyone dared hurt a dog, cat or other pet (well, not frogs because I have a phobia…and probably not snakes and spiders) I’d definitely act.

        In fact, I know of several people who are more passionate in their love and protection of animals than they ever are human life.

        As to why? I don’t know that there’s really a good answer for why we value human life beyond all else except that maybe it’s our own species…

      • Dace says :

        I think you are right Kitt. I think we choose a human life over others because we are afraid to die ourselves and we can’t be selective. Who has the right to decide who lives and who dies? We live in a society and everybody is, more or less, equal and has the right to live.
        Also, it is about the survival of the species.

        However, you have to admit that it is a hard choice – to face a human who doesn’t value any life except his own and make a choice to save him…

  2. Holly H says :

    Wow… that’s a great question. I’d save him because my belief would be that by not saving him I playing a part in killing him, and I can’t condone killing humans…. So… there that is. (I have to admit here though that, even though it’s painful to me, I sometimes kill snails because otherwise my garden would be overrun and I’d lose all my seedlings).

    I appreciate you and you blog. You are a “friend” of Lois Middleton’s so I saw you there on her FB page and then traveled here.

    Love to you and light to your endeavors. :)

    • Dace says :

      Holly, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I love Lois as she is an amazing human being. Her vision of the world is something that is close to my heart.

      Even though I have never met her in real life, I have a connection with her that can’t be expressed in words.

      My questions are not statements. Those are questions to make people think. Everybody has to make their own choices and find their own truth

    • Lois says :

      Yay, Holly! I can’t think of a couple of more cool people in the world to connect than you two! Yay!

      …and Dace, you just rock my world big time :)

  3. Fiercely Yours says :

    I think when you’re presented with a life vs death moment that we should seize the moment not over think it. Moving the dragon fly may not save him and might drag out his death, but the ants who come along to assist in the life cycle are also out of harms way. Same with the drunk driver– if you pull him from the car you may have spared the lives of firefighters or passerby’s who would have less time trying to save his life anyway. However, no one says you can’t kick the drunks ass once you’re both out of danger.

    • Dace says :

      Everything we do create consequences as we are just a part of the life cycle. It is a chain reaction and depending on what choices you make, the future for some will unfold in one way or another.

  4. margueritequantaine says :

    I understand the worms, the dragonfly, and all creatures great and small in need of kindness and mercy. I’d help the them, same as you. I’m glad to know you’re out there feeling the same.

    I would not help the drunk.

    I would not enable any person with depraved indifference to be free to kill or maim again. To do so would require me to assume shared responsibility for all his future acts.

    • Dace says :

      it is amazing what we can learn about ourselves when we face tough choices. However, there is no right or wrong…It is just a choice we make at that moment in time knowing what we know and basing it on beliefs we have. :P

  5. Lois says :

    I am a worm-picker-upper… I just cannot pass a worm by that’s lying in the sidewalk or street – I have to pick it up and put it in the grass or somewhere where it has a chance to live. I’ve also stopped on the side of the road for injured birds, dogs, squirrels, etc. so if I had to make a guess at what I would do with the drunk man, I’d save his life as well. However, I probably also would have to do something that would allow this person to be held accountable for his actions, although to do so is putting me in the position of judging him and I do my best to no longer put my prejudices onto other human beings – I believe we are held accountable by a higher authority than we are so perhaps I would just save him from his burning car and allow whatever “justice” there is out there to do its thing and take care of him. There’s my stream of consciousness, stream-y as it is.

    I see that Holly H. has found you! Yay! I love Holly! She’s as amazing as you are – wouldn’t it be a hoot if we could all meet up some day and dance in the street together? Ok, maybe my dancing in the street days are over but you get my drift.

    Thanks for the thoughts and questions!

    • Dace says :

      I am just amazed by the duality of those questions alone. As we know, Lois, there is no right or wrong, it just is. We are playing the game with the rules that we have set for ourselves. Some will judge others for having a different opinion or morals and some will choose to avoid this uncomfortable situation.

      Questions like that will bring beliefs, convictions, opinions and morals to surface and will create discussions and huge disagreements.

  6. xbox2121 says :

    First I am sorry for butting into your post I am looking through your site and find it very interesting so far. As to your question I think I can offer a different perspective. I was in the Army for 22 years as cruel as it sounds there are times when you have no choice but to take another humans life. I personally know two families whose lives were shattered by drunk drivers so in this case I would not hesitate to leave the drunk in the car.

    • Dace says :

      we all have our stand on the issue as we have experiences to build our vision of the world. As long as that decision you have to make is made according to what you believe is right, it is the right decision for you. :)

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

