Tomorrow Isn’t Promised

Life’s not too long..
It’s too short
Life isn’t promised
Tomorrow isn’t promised
Not even today is promised
Life is fragile … It’s precious
Life is a miracle… It’s beautiful
In no way is living perfect
but having LIFE…THAT’S PERFECT!!!..”
~unknown

Again and again I come across words that make me appreciate life in its awesome manifestation. When you realize that nothing is promised, you cherish every single moment that is given to you. You see beauty in things, events, and relationships as they exist. Just simply exist!

Yesterday I was staring in the face of death. Actually, those were eyes I was staring at but, for a little more dramatic effect, I am saying – I was staring Death right in the face. Well, ok, it wasn’t death with its awesome black hoodie and bony palms sticking out of sleeves but it was a powerful representation of it – a little dead sparrow (a baby).

That was a huge emotional moment for me as I was looking at my cat holding a dead bird in her mouth and a lifeless body of a little unprotected fragile baby bird. I couldn’t believe that a cat that I love so much could do such a thing as take somebody’s life.

I do not tolerate any bullying or violence, and there I was looking at my cat being proud of her kill. The truth is, we do not know if she actually killed the bird or just found its lifeless body and was claiming the kill, but it was too much for me to take. I started crying like somebody just killed the most precious thing in my life. I felt such a deep pain and my heart was sinking…

Yeah, lack of chocolate or sugar!

Moments like this just remind you of your mortality and the fact that you should eat that damn piece of chocolate when you want it as tomorrow is not promised, neither is today.

Every day is a gift, every breath is a gift. Yes, no one wants to think about the dark side. However, if you have not been confronted with the dark side and haven’t had your face rubbed in it; you are just wasting your life and your relationships with people.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

7 responses to “Tomorrow Isn’t Promised”

  1. Jill says :

    Hey Dace, thank you for this blog and for the reminder that life is too short and that every day is a gift, do not take it for granted!

    I have just recently found out last week that my Father has been diagnosed with Cancer of the bladder. The positive side is that it has not metastasized and he and all of us have a very positive attitude and outlook on life

    I was grateful to be out in Kelowna this past weekend to celebrate Father’s day with him!

    Thanks for sharing you…..big hug….
    Living Life :-)
    Jill

    P.S going to go eat a piece of that damn chocolate now! LOL

    • Dace says :

      it is great that they caught it early and will be able to take care of it.

      These are moments I am talking about. Smack in your face that is required to wake up and realize how precious LIFE is and that you have to enjoy whatever you do. If you do not enjoy what you do or how you live your life, then why the heck are you still doing it ?

  2. Roxi St. Clair says :

    Most excellently written! Sometimes we forget how fragile life can be and how we should cherish it and never take it for granted.

  3. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches. says :

    Dace – You are so right. Life is fragile and I had to go get my precious 2 squares of sugar free chocolate before I could type my reply. Your kitty may be innocent. Perhaps this would be a good time for me to do a Morti blog on Monday. This was a heavy duty subject matter week for me and I’ve been thinking about Morti a lot lately. Thanks for a wonderful post.

  4. Naomi Baltuck says :

    Great post, Dace. My mom used to say you should plan to live forever, but live every day as if it were your last. I lost both parents young, and perhaps that’s why I don’t take anything for granted. All my loved ones know how much they are loved.

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 816 other followers

