How To Forgive The Unforgivable

Dace:

I believe that so many of us can relate to this story. No matter what happened to you as a child, no matter how painful and devastating it was, there comes time when you just have to let go. Forgive yourself and forgive those who have done you wrong. You have a LIFE to live, you have joy to experience and you have so much love to give. You do not have time to live in the past and blame others for your unhappiness.

 

You are not a victim anymore. You have a wonderful journey ahead of you, you have many wonderful people to meet and amazing friendships to create. Living in the past, feeling anger towards the world and people in it, will never get you where you want to be.

 

However, you do have to start with yourself. You have to look at your beliefs, your convictions, your old ways of looking at your life.

Originally posted on inspired2ignite:

…and How Forgiving Brings Freedom…

The decision to forgive my dad was borne of a long labor.

Although I’d always felt and said I wanted to forgive him, I couldn’t seem to actually do it.  Maybe my mind hadn’t transferred the abuse from something to survive into something to forgive yet.

spirituallythinking.blogspot.com

spirituallythinking.blogspot.com

I’d hidden the abuse for so long, it became acceptable in its own sick way.  I compartmentalized the abuse and split my dad into two people.  There was the dad who abused me; but then there was the dad who played cards with me, taught me to fly his plane, and took me fishing.  As children, we are dependent and vulnerable; we have no choice but to find a way to accept the abuse in order to survive.

All I ever wanted was to have a happy, loving dad/daughter relationship. It took me years before I admitted to myself…

View original 769 more words

Tags: , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 819 other followers

