LGBT senior housing – Curse or Blessing?

LGBT-senior-housingPoliticians and activists broke ground for a LGBT friendly senior housing community in Philadelphia, reports Gay Star News.

I have meant to write about this for a while but I was not sure what to say. I had mixed feelings about this and I needed to think. First thoughts that ran through my head were: “Are you serious? Now you are going to gather all of them together, shove them in one place and isolate them from the world?”

However, as more I thought about it and as more I tried to imagine myself at that golden age as more I started to understand. It is not about isolation and it is not about gathering people, and labeling them.

I have always thought that it is silly to separate people by their sexuality. We fall in love with the same sex but we still function and live the same way as everybody else. We make friends based on their personalities, values, and morals, and not whom they sleep with.

This project is important because of Acceptance, as opposed to Tolerance. Most of the seniors over 60 have been raised in the era that wasn’t extremely tolerant. I can only imagine that bullying is not just an issue in schools, and being amongst people that accept you and understand is important. It gives you peace of mind, comfort and emotional fulfillment, and most of all – it gives you feeling of belonging.

This project is about giving our seniors a safe place to call home.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

5 responses to “LGBT senior housing – Curse or Blessing?”

  1. carolynpageabc says :

    Hmmmmm…..
    Like you, Dace, my first response was of ‘isolation’.!
    However, the more I ponder, the more I think I would feel safer and more welcome amongst those I could identify with more… As long as I still had the same opportunities to mingle freely in other environments, I think I’d be happy with such an arrangement…

    • Dace says :

      now you understand why I took so long to write about this.

      • carolynpageabc says :

        Yep, sure do…
        Still don’t think it’s the ‘ideal’, and yet… with the current state of man’s ‘humanity’ it is probably the best that can be done…
        Hope your New Year entry was fun…!
        Here’s to a good year, my friend… xoxoxo

  2. Christina DaCosta says :

    Thanks for writing about this! While it is tough thing to wrap your head around, I think you nailed it. Oftentimes, when LGBT seniors go into housing or nursing homes they suffer from extreme isolation, go back into the closet and/or suffer from homophobia. Cultural competency trainings help, which is what our sister-site, The National Resource Center on LGBT Aging takes care of. You would not believe the positive responses we get after telling staff that YES, you DO have an LGBT members in your home and you have to treat them respectfully and maybe even a little differently than other members. Thanks again from SAGE!

    • Dace says :

      it is great to hear from people who actually deal with seniors on a daily basis and get to experience everything our elders feel and encounter. Thanks for posting and sharing. It is highly appreciated.

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers

