Picture it & write – No, it didn’t happen!

Ermilia’s Picture it & write  (Sunday 04 November 2012)

‘Picture it & write’ hosted by Ermilia (Ermisenda and Elizabeth) who invite others to join them by writing a fictional story or poem to accompany an image presented on their blog.

___________________________________________________________________

I have not done any of Picture it & Write challenges and most likely will not do one again. However, this particular picture spoke to me and I ended up thinking about it for a while. As it still has not left my mind, I owe myself at least a try to put down into words what I see.

Picture it & Write from Ermilia’s blog

It was raining. The darkness had crawled into corners of the room and was staring at her. She could feel her shaking hands trying to hold onto her knees but no matter how hard she tried, she could not stop shaking.

She couldn’t breathe. She was thinking. Did I close the window? I think we are out dish soap…I wish….  I am so dirty…I need to take a bath but then it will be all around me. It will suffocate me .

She kept looking at that smudge on the wall or was that her face print? Whispering was getting so laud and what if others will hear it? Oh, wait, those were her own thoughts.  There is something I need to do, she said.  Shhhh…don’t speak, she covered her own mouth. Don’t!

I am invisible, she thought to herself. No one can see me. Why can’t I just close my eyes and disappear? Nobody will notice.  If I go, it also goes, and that means it didn’t happen.

Tags: ,

About Dace

I am perfectly imperfect!

7 responses to “Picture it & write – No, it didn’t happen!”

  1. carolynpageabc says :

    Oh, heart rendering…!
    I want to hold her and let her know that everything will be alright..!
    I ache for her…..
    Such a lovely story, Dace…

    • Dace says :

      I think we might need to borrow the blanket you gave her in your story. This came out way too dark..ha..ha..

      yeah, maybe that is the reason I do not fall for things like picture and write as who knows what kind of horror I will come up. I blame it on the weather…

      • carolynpageabc says :

        Ha hah…. ;) (blanket)
        No, I disagree. I think it’s beautiful. Many can relate to this, and that is what writing is all about.! I think you’ve created a picture that ‘holds water’ for many…
        Here’s hoping it’s the first of many to come… We need your voice…!

  2. liz says :

    what a cool idea! and beautiful writing. keep ‘em coming!

  3. joetwo says :

    Pity you do not plan on joining us in ‘Picture it and write’ more. That was a very good story. An excellent look at despair.

  4. Ermilia says :

    A beautiful piece. You communicated the confusion the girl feels so well. I agree with Carolyn, I want to hold her tight. Great work! Thanks for contributing this week, and although you mentioned you probably wouldn’t do another one, I hope you do.

    – Ermisenda

    • Dace says :

      Thanks Ermisenda for kind words. I love Carolyn’s vision of this world and her reflections. She is an inspiration. Her contributions to Piture it & Write are amazing as she touches your heart every time she posts

Tell Me What you Think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

